Smile by Mike Williams 03/21/2016 @ 8:08 A.M.

Smile by Mike Williams 03/21/2016 @ 8:08 A.M.

I hide behind a smile,
It often masks my pain.
I pretend my world is sunshine,
And hold back my storms and rain.I act as if nothing is wrong,
If you ask I’ll say I’m o.k.
How can I share the awful truth,
When my inward clouds turn grey?

I sit in silence as I dwell,
Longing for so much more in life.
I watch those around me have fun,
As I feel the sting and strife.

I hide my tears in public,
And put on a show for a while.
So that no one ever feels my sadness,
I hide behind a smile.

Leave a Reply

