Humanity by Mike Williams 05/03/2016 @ 9:17 A.M.

Humanity by Mike Williams 05/03/2016 @ 9:17 A.M.

I see our shared humanity
between all the opposing odds.
We speak a different language
with different cultures and gods.

What is lost in the translation
are the details I can’t relate.
But if any should suffer them,
we’d have only a heart of hate.

Yet I see your inner beauty,
how very much you are like me.
It isn’t the odds that hold truth,
it’s in our similarity.

I see within your eyes shining
and hear a smile within a word.
But through it all I’m pining
to know what is often unheard.

Upon the earth we are strangers
both of us from a distant land.
I sense familiarity
for all that I don’t understand.

To strip away our differences
and peer beyond complexity.
We share our experiences
of our common humanity.

Leave a Reply

