Dark Waters by Mike Williams 07/24/2016 @ 8:47 P.M.

Dark Waters by Mike Williams 07/24/2016 @ 8:47 P.M.

Dark waters run deep beneath the appearence of their still,
calm upon the surface but the undercurrents can kill.

You say words that wound me and I grin in silent surprise,
holding back private tears that long to flow behind my eyes.

I speak and you pay no attention to me on the phone,
and you think you know me because I sound the same alone.

I’ve hidden my innermost side and my fragility,
and dare not show my deeper truth for the shallow you see.

Thirty sleeping pills later I awake and then you call,
brave I face knowing dark waters run deep beneath it all.

Leave a Reply

