Eating My Heart Out by Mike Williams 09/02/2015 @ 6:16 P.M.

Eating My Heart Out by Mike Williams 09/02/2015 @ 6:16 P.M.

When I was a child, I had a heart of glass,
Disappointment rendered easily broken.
Fragile beyond measure and innocently cast,
Clouded and cracked by lies and words ill spoken.

When I was a young man, I had a heart of stone,
Formed by trials and bitterness of years.
Broken and pieced together, hard as bone,
Unrelenting and cold, defensive against my fears.

As I grew older, my heart became flesh and soft,
In tune with feelings and forgotten emotions.
Returning to remembered childhood thought lost,
Remourseful and salty tears, weeping an ocean.

In old age, My heart of woes turned facing within,
Seeing a new perspective, beyond former doubt.
Love filled my broken vessel, making whole again,
Many times I recall the past, eating my heart out.

Leave a comment